Tags

, , , ,

Well, first let’s talk progress. By October, my splits were getting pretty close. My right was done, though uncomfortable, on days when I had time for a good warmup, and my left was pretty good.

October Left Split

October Left Split

October right split

October right split

Well, that went down the drain pretty quickly as the pain from my shifting hips came along. I kept up with class nonetheless, but I sure learned to appreciate my body in the process. First, I’ve often felt life the chubby ballerina in the class. Well, you haven’t seen chubby until you’ve seen your pregnant self in a leotard!

Being pregnant in a leotard is awesome

Being pregnant in a leotard is awesome

Actually, since I’ve been lucky to only gain belly and boobs, I didn’t even look chubby, just sort of alien-like. I also got to see just how much of my progress I’d taken for granted as I lost various skills week after week. My battlements got lower, my turns went to strictly single, my balance became iffy and I got progressively slower. I called it quits at week 30, because I felt like there was no point in paying for class when I had to sit out half of it. My goal is to go back by September, even though I’ll have to repeat the grades I was in. I definitely do not want to give it up.

Well, at least I still get to do belly dance, and believe me, I bring all the belly. I’ve got just 5 weeks left in the pregnancy, and I plan on continuing to attend this class for 4. Who knows, I may even do a move or two in the delivery room to ease the pain.

