Tags

, , , , , , ,

So, in my journey toward APL hair, I have decided to participate in the Castor Oil Challenge. I’m not expecting to grow inches upon inches of hair in the next few months, but I feel the challenge is a nice way for me to stay committed to taking care of my hair regularly.

Currently, my hair regimen consists of a weekly pre-poo (detangling and moisturizing) with a wash the next day. That’s right, I only wash my hair once a week since kinky hair doesn’t build up oil like other hair textures. In fact, during the winter I really could go two weeks if I didn’t have my sweaty dance days. In any case, after the wash, I use the LOC (Liquid, Oil, Cream) method, and then braid or twist my hair for a braid-out or twist-out. So basically, for the challenge, all I have done is replace the Monoi oil in my pre-poo and LOC with the Jamaican Black Castor Oil (JBCO) .

So far, my hair seems more moisturized all week, and my poor mistreated edges are looking much better. However, I seem to be shedding a bit, so I’ll have to keep an eye on that; if it continues, I may have to cut the JBCO with a carrier oil). My hair does seem to be growing though, which is nice considering that at the end of last month, I went a little scissor happy during my attempt to trim my own hair, and cut off about 2 inches (which is a big deal when your hair is prone to shrinkage).

On a different note, I have now joined the rest of the social media world and joined Twitter; hope you’ll follow me there 🙂

